What is DELF / DALF?

DELF (Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française) and DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française)
are official qualifications delivered by the French Department of Education to certify competencies of non-French native speakers in the French language.

6 levels are recognised by the DELF & DALF and each one is represented by its own exam.

At each level, 4 skills are evaluated: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Candidates can take the examination of their choice, according to their level.

They may also sit the examinations for different levels during the same examination session.

Variations of DELF & DALF

DELF Prim:

It consists of 3 levels: A.11, A1 and A2, corresponding to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
DELF Prim is intended for 7 to 12 year old children who are beginners in Franch as a froreign Language.

DELF Junior:

The diploma delivered is identical to the standard DELF diploma.
The junior version of DELF has the same basic structure as the standard DELF.
Only the topics are different, they take into account the interests of teenagers.
It can only be taken by students aged 13 to 18 years.


Evaluates the French communication skills of professionals
aiming at a promotion and/or placement within a French speaking work environment.